All the Prime Ministers of India – Indian PM List

You can say the Prime Minister (or, PM) of India as the Chief Executive of the Government of India.

Since 1947 (after Independence), India has witnessed a total of 14 Prime Ministers. And, if we include Gulzarilal Nanda, who was twice selected as the Acting Prime Minister, then the total number of Prime Ministers becomes 15.

The very first Prime Minister of India was Jawahar Lal Nehru, who became PM after India’s Independence from British (15th August 1947).

The current Indian Prime Minister is Narendra Modi, who is the 17th PM of India. First, he became PM in 2014 (served till 2019) and Mr Modi has been again selected as the PM of India in 2019.

The next Lok Sabha election will take place in 2024.

In this blog post, like the RBI Governors List, I will be providing you with the List of All the Indian Prime Ministers till date along with their Term Start-End Date and the Time Period in that they Served as the Indian PM.

So, here we go…

List of All the Indian Prime Ministers Till Date

List of All the Prime Ministers of India

Sl. Name Party
Term Start Term End Timeframe
1 Jawaharlal Nehru Indian National Congress 15-August-1947 15-April-1952 16 years, 286 days
15-April-1952 17-April-1957
17-April-1957 2-April-1962
2-April-1962 27-May-1964
Gulzarilal Nanda (acting) Indian National Congress 27-May-1964 9-June-1964 13 days
2 Lal Bahadur Shastri Indian National Congress 9-June-1964 11-January-1966 1 year, 216 days
Gulzarilal Nanda (acting) Indian National Congress 11-January-1966 24-January-1966 13 days
3 Indira Gandhi Indian National Congress 24-January-1966 4-March-1967 11 years, 59 days
4-March-1967 15-March-1971
15-March-1971 24-March-1977
4 Morarji Desai Janata Party 24-March-1977 28-July-1979 2 years, 126 days
5 Charan Singh Janata Party (Secular)
*with INC*
28-July-1979 14-January-1980 170 days
(3) Indira Gandhi Indian National Congress 14-January-1980 31-October-1984 4 years, 291 days
6 Rajiv Gandhi Indian National Congress 31-October-1984 31-December-1984 5 years, 32 days
31-December-1984 2-December-1989
7 Vishwanath Pratap Singh Janata Dal
(*National Front*)
2-December-1989 10-November-1990 343 days
8 Chandra Shekhar Samajwadi Janata Party
*with INC*
10-November-1990 21-June-1991 223 days
9 P. V. Narasimha Rao Indian National Congress 21-June-1991 16-May-1996 4 years, 330 days
10 Atal Bihari Vajpayee Bharatiya Janata Party 16-May-1996 1-June-1996 16 days
11 H. D. Deve Gowda Janata Dal
(*United Front*)
1-June-1996 21-April-1997 324 days
12 Inder Kumar Gujral Janata Dal
(*United Front*)
21-April-1997 19-March-1998 332 days
(10) Atal Bihari Vajpayee Bharatiya Janata Party
19-March-1998 10-October-1999 6 years, 64 days
10-October-1999 22-May-2004
13 Manmohan Singh Indian National Congress
22-May-2004 22-May-2009 10 years, 4 days
22-May-2009 26-May-2014
14 Narendra Modi Bharatiya Janata Party
26-May-2014 30-May-2019 5 years, 122 days
30-May-2019 Incumbent


Rajiv Gandhi was India’s youngest Prime Minister till date who was selected after the assassination of the previous PM Smt. Indira Gandhi by her own bodyguards.

The Nehru-Gandhi family has served as the Prime Minister of India for a total of 37 years and 303 days.

In 1996, Bharatiya Janta Party leader Atal Bihari Vajpayee got selected as the Indian Prime Minister and stayed only for the 16 days which is the shortest term till date. But, Atal Bihari Vajpayee became PM again in 1998 and served the country for 6 years and 64 days.

You can also download the table used in this post in a beautiful PDF format by clicking here.

So, that was it.

Now, it’s your turn.

Got any related query? Feel free to let me know in the comments below.

Also, share this article with the people who you think might be interested in reading it.


One Comment

  1. Kishor soma dongare says:

    Indira Gandhi was best p.m India now till become p.m nobody like it Indira Gandhi so Indira Gandhi was more than of better p.m of India I always remember her,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *