List of All the Indian Presidents

All the Presidents of India – List of Indian Presidents

The Indian President is known as the head of the State of India and also the commander-in-chief of the Indian Armed Forces.

The President of India is honoured as the first citizen of India.

Despite given so many powers by the constitution of India, the President’s position is mainly a ceremonial position and the Prime Minister holds most of the executive powers.

The election of the President is done by the elected members of the parliament houses Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha, and also the Vidhan Sabha (state legislative assemblies).

Till date, India has witnessed a total of 14 Presidents including the current President Ram Nath Kovind. Also, there were 3 more acting Presidents in the office for a short period of time, apart from the main 14.

In this blog post, like the RBI governors list and Indian PMs list, I will be providing you with the List of All the Presidents of India till date along with their Term Start and End Dates.

So, here we go…

President House or Rashtrapati Bhawan

List of Indian Presidents

No.NameTerm StartTerm EndTimeframe
1Rajendra Prasad26-January-195013-May-195212 years, 107 days
2Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan13-May-196213-May-19675 years, 0 days
3Zakir Husain13-May-19673-May-19691 year, 355 days
Varahagiri Venkata Giri (Acting)3-May-196920-July-196978 days
Mohammad Hidayatullah (Acting)20-July-196924-August-196935 days
4Varahagiri Venkata Giri24-August-196924-August-19745 years, 0 days
5Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed24-August-197411-February-19772 years, 171 days
Basappa Danappa Jatti (Acting)11-February-197725-July-1977164 days
6Neelam Sanjiva Reddy25-July-197725-July-19825 years, 0 days
7Zail Singh25-July-198225-July-19875 years, 0 days
8Ramaswamy Venkataraman25-July-198725-July-19925 years, 0 days
9Shankar Dayal Sharma25-July-199225-July-19975 years, 0 days
10Kocheril Raman Narayanan25-July-199725-July-20025 years, 0 days
11APJ Abdul Kalam25-July-200225-July-20075 years, 0 days
12Pratibha Patil25-July-200725-July-20125 years, 0 days
13Pranab Mukherjee25-July-201225-July-20175 years, 0 days
14Ram Nath Kovind25-July-2017Incumbent


Pratibha Patil is the very first and the only female President of India till date. She was elected as the 12th Indian President in 2007 and was in the office from 25-July-2007 to 25-July-2012 (5 years).

If you want, you can also download the PDF of the list of all the Presidents of India by clicking here.

So, that’s it.

If you have a related query, feel free to let me know in the comments right now.

Also, share this article with the people who you think might be interested in reading it.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *