Detailed List of All the IIT Colleges in India

I’m pretty sure that it is not needed to mention what IITs are, right? Well. IITs (Indian Institute of Technology) are India’s premier autonomous public institutes for higher education which are governed by the Institutes of Technology Act, 1961. The act declares the IITs as institutions of national importance.

>>> Recommended Read: 17+ IIT Alumni who are Making India Proud

Earlier, there were only 7 IIT colleges in India but in the recent past, the Indian government has taken major steps to start a few new IITs. And, the number of total IIT colleges in India is 23 now. In this post, I have listed out all the IITs with their establishment year, short names and location.

>>> Recommended Read: What do IIT-JEE Toppers Do Differently than Others?

List of All the IITs in India

List of IITs are not sorted out in any specific order in the list below:

Sl. Name of the IIT Established Short Name Location
1. IIT Roorkee 2001 IITR Uttarakhand
2. IIT Kharagpur 1951 IITKGP West Bengal
3. IIT Madras 1959 IITM Tamil Nadu
4. IIT Bombay 1958 IITB Maharashtra
5. IIT Kanpur 1959 IITK Uttar Pradesh
6. IIT Delhi 1963 IITD Delhi
7. IIT Guwahati 1994 IITG Assam
8. IIT Ropar 2008 IITRPR Punjab
9. IIT Bhubaneswar 2008 IITBBS Odisha
10. IIT Gandhinagar 2008 IITGN Gujarat
11. IIT Hyderabad 2008 IITH Telangana
12. IIT Jodhpur 2008 IITJ Rajasthan
13. IIT Patna 2008 IITP Bihar
14. IIT Indore 2009 IITI Madhya Pradesh
15. IIT Mandi 2009 IITMandi Himachal Pradesh
16. IIT (BHU) Varanasi 2012 IIT (BHU) Uttar Pradesh
17. IIT Palakkad 2015 IITPKD Kerala
18. IIT Tirupati 2015 IITTP Andhra Pradesh
19. IIT (ISM) Dhanbad 2016 IIT (ISM) Jharkhand
20. IIT Bhilai 2016 IITBH Chhattisgarh
21. IIT Goa 2016 IITGOA Goa
22. IIT Jammu 2016 IITJM Jammu & Kashmir
23. IIT Dharwad 2016 IITDH Karnataka

So, currently, these are the 23 fully functioning IIT colleges in India.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.