Ramon Magsaysay Award Indian Winners List (till 2019)

Ramon Magsaysay Award is awarded in the honour of the former president of the Philippines named Ramon Magsaysay.

The prize was first established in April 1957 by the New York city-based trust named Rockefeller Brothers Fund with the help of the Philippines government.

Ramon Magsaysay Award is often called the Nobel Prize of Asia. It is the highest award given to someone in Asia. Many Indians have been awarded by this honour till now.

Ramon Magsaysay - 3rd President of Philippines
Ramon Magsaysay – 3rd President of Philippines

Generally, the award is given in the following 6-7 categories:

  1. Government Service
  2. Public Service
  3. Community Leadership
  4. Journalism, Literature, and Creative Communication Arts
  5. Peace and International Understanding
  6. Emergent Leadership
  7. Uncategorized


So, in this article, I will be providing you with the list of Indian personalities who have got the Ramon Magsaysay Award.

Here we go…

List of Indian Winners of Ramon Magsaysay Award

The list here includes the list of Indian winners of the award along with the year and category that they were given the award in.

Year WonPerson’s NameCategory
1958Vinoba BhaveCommunity Leadership
1961Amitabha ChowdhuryJournalism, Literature, and
the Creative Communication Arts
1962Mother TeresaPeace and International Understanding
1963Verghese KurienCommunity Leadership
1963Dara Nusserwanji KhurodyCommunity Leadership
1963Tribhuvandas Kishibhai PatelCommunity Leadership
1965Jayaprakash NarayanPublic Service
1966Kamaladevi ChattopadhyayCommunity Leadership
1967Satyajit RayJournalism, Literature, and
the Creative Communication Arts
1971M.S. SwaminathanCommunity Leadership
1974M.S. SubbulakshmiPublic Service
1975Boobli George VergheseJournalism, Literature, and
the Creative Communication Arts
1976Sombhu MitraJournalism, Literature, and
the Creative Communication Arts
1977Ela BhattCommunity Leadership
1979Mabelle AroleCommunity Leadership
1979Rajanikant AroleCommunity Leadership
1981Pramod Karan SethiCommunity Leadership
1981Gour Kishore GhoshJournalism, Literature, and
the Creative Communication Arts
1982Manibhai DesaiPublic Service
1982Chandi Prasad BhattCommunity Leadership
1982Arun ShourieJournalism, Literature, and
the Creative Communication Arts
1984R. K. LaxmanJournalism, Literature, and
the Creative Communication Arts
1985Baba AmtePublic Service
1989Lakshmi Chand JainPublic Service
1991K. V. SubbannaJournalism, Literature, and
the Creative Communication Arts
1992Ravi ShankarJournalism, Literature, and
the Creative Communication Arts
1993Banoo Jehangir CoyajiPublic Service
1994Kiran BediGovernment Service
1996Pandurang Shastri AthavaleEmergent Leadership
1996T. N. SeshanGovernment Service
1996Pandurang Shastri AthavaleCommunity Leadership
1997Mahasweta DeviJournalism, Literature, and
the Creative Communication Arts
2000Aruna RoyCommunity Leadership
2000Jockin ArputhamPeace and International Understanding
2001Rajendra SinghCommunity Leadership
2002Sandeep PandeyEmergent Leadership
2003James Michael LyngdohGovernment Service
2003Shantha SinhaCommunity Leadership
2004Laxminarayan RamdasPeace and International Understanding
2005V. ShantaPublic Service
2006Arvind KejriwalEmergent Leadership
2007Palagummi SainathJournalism, Literature, and
the Creative Communication Arts
2008Prakash AmteCommunity Leadership
2008Mandakini AmteCommunity Leadership
2009Deep JoshiUncategorized
2011Nileema MishraEmergent Leadership
2011Harish HandeUncategorized
2012Kulandei FrancisUncategorized
2015Sanjiv ChaturvediEmergent Leadership
2015Anshu Gupta And Sanjiv ChaturvediUncategorized
2016Thodur Madabusi KrishnaEmergent Leadership
2016Bezwada WilsonCommunity Leadership
2018Sonam WangchukUncategorized
2018Bharat VatwaniUncategorized
2019Ravish KumarJournalism, Literature, and
the Creative Communication Arts

That’s it.

You can download the PDF version of the list by simply clicking here.

Also read:

If you have any related query, please let me know in the comments right now.


  1. You made some decent points there. I looked on the internet for the subject and found most persons will go along with with your blog.

  2. Hasmukh V Dholakiya says:

    It is very nice and appreciable

  3. Very fair and transparent nomination procedure.

  4. Shailesh J. Kotwal says:

    Mr.Ravish Kumar stayed with us in our home stay facility at Murud Janjira this Diwali festival. Who never told me that he is Ramon Magsaysay award winner; neither I said that I know about him. Such a simple and noble personality! Proud of you Ravish sir. Salute to your patriotism. Wish you best of luck.

  5. Hemanta Kumar Khuntia says:

    I noted the name of 58 people from the above list, who they are the proud Indians and won the Raman Magsaysay Award, known as the Asian Nobel Prize and I feel so proud to be an Indian. With the emerging leadership of those people, we are heading towards a emerging economy.

  6. P. V. Rao says:

    Thank you for your efforts to keep the record and make it available for the people of India

    1. Glad you found it useful, thanks.

  7. Lotus Queen says:

    The name of M C Mehta for Public service in 1997 is missing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *