Indian States & Union Territories and their Capitals

India is a South Asian country with a population of more than 1.3 billion people. It is known as the world most populous democracy in the world.

Currently, India has 29 states and 7 union territories which are all under a parliamentary system.

In this blog post, I will be listing out all the states and union territories in India in a beautiful table.

So, here we go…

List of Indian States and Union Territories

Recommended Read: List of Indian Spacecrafts Launched by ISRO

Indian States and Union Territories

No. State or
Union Territory
Administrative Capital
1 Andaman and Nicobar
Islands (UT)
Port Blair
2 Andhra Pradesh Hyderabad (de jure to 2024)
Amaravati (de facto from 2017)
3 Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar
4 Assam Dispur
5 Bihar Patna
6 Chandigarh (UT) Chandigarh
7 Chhattisgarh Raipur
8 Dadra and Nagar Haveli (UT) Silvassa
9 Daman and Diu (UT) Daman
10 National Capital Territory
of Delhi
New Delhi
11 Goa Panaji
12 Gujarat Gandhinagar
13 Haryana Chandigarh
14 Himachal Pradesh Shimla
15 Jammu and Kashmir (UT) Srinagar (Summer)
Jammu (Winter)
16 Jharkhand Ranchi
17 Karnataka Bangalore
18 Kerala Thiruvananthapuram
19 Lakshadweep (UT) Kavaratti
20 Madhya Pradesh Bhopal
21 Maharashtra Mumbai
22 Manipur Imphal
23 Meghalaya Shillong
24 Mizoram Aizawl
25 Nagaland Kohima
26 Odisha Bhubaneswar
27 Puducherry (UT) Puducherry
28 Punjab Chandigarh
29 Rajasthan Jaipur
30 Sikkim Gangtok
31 Tamil Nadu Chennai
32 Telangana Hyderabad
33 Tripura Agartala
34 Uttar Pradesh Lucknow
35 Uttarakhand Dehradun
36 West Bengal Kolkata


The 3 Indian states Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, and Maharashtra have different capitals for their summer and winter sessions.

That’s it.

If you have any related query, feel free to let me know by dropping a quick comment right now.

Also, share this article with the people who you think might be interested in knowing it.


One Comment

  1. jack songs says:

    This is such a great resource that you are providing and you give it away for free.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *